Small Business Development Committee

  1. Meredith L. Mooney

    Economic Development & Long-Term Planner
    Phone: 617-264-6478

Photo of SBDC members at inaugural meeting on 9/17/19. Text: "Small Business Development Committe


The inaugural members of the Small Business Development Committee were appointed by the Select Board on September 10, 2019 and sworn in on September 17, 2019.

  • Raul Fernandez, Chair
  • Elias Audy
  • Mark Barer
  • Raj Kumar Dhanda
  • Sam Glasgow
  • Talia Glass
  • Melissa Tapper Goldman
  • David Leschinsky
  • Sandy Machado
  • Anne Meyers
  • Debbie G. Miller
  • Annika Sarin
  • Steve Silverman
  • Debbie Raisner Thompson


The Small Business Development Committee will study and recommend methods (including funding requests and sources) to the Select Board to incubate, launch, recruit, and sustain small businesses in Brookline. Special attention will be paid to minority and women-owned businesses. 

The committee will explore potential solutions to rising rents, regulatory restrictions, parking access, commercial displacement, and other headwinds facing small businesses. 

The committee will consider the viability and recommend potential tools including business improvement districts, small business incubators, pop-up shops, co-working spaces, parklets, outdoor seating, galleries, public markets, and other options, as well as the role of the arts and special events in contributing to thriving businesses and communities. 

The committee shall be chaired by a member of the Select Board, and include residents, a representative of the Chamber of Commerce and/or local business associations, small business owners, commercial property owners, a member with expertise in public art programming, and a member with expertise in small business assistance. The Committee will be staffed by the Economic Development & Long-Term Planning Division.

Reference Materials

Small Business Development Committee members will be sharing any important reference materials (reports, articles, etc.) that they come across in their exploration of issues and challenges facing Brookline's small business community, as well as potential tools and solutions to address those problems, here:

Upcoming Meetings

Unless otherwise noted, Small Business Development Committee meetings will be held from 8:30am-10am in Room 111 at Brookline Town Hall, 333 Washington Street, Brookline, MA. Meeting dates are subject to change. Official, public notice meetings can be found on the Town Calendar:

  • Thursday, October 3, 2019 
  • Tuesday, October 15, 2019
  • Tuesday, October 29, 2019
  • Tuesday, November 12, 2019
  • Tuesday, November 26, 2019
  • Tuesday, December 10, 2019