Preservation

The Planning Department's Preservation staff work to promote the protection, restoration, and preservation of the Town's historical and cultural assets; to encourage a healthy preservation and development climate; and to provide homeowners and Town agencies with historical and technical advice on appropriate restoration procedures.

These objectives are accomplished by completing the following:

  • Processing Local Historic District, Neighborhood Conservation District and Demolition applications
  • Working with the Planning Board and Board of Appeals on design review and zoning cases
  • Offering technical assistance to property owners, developers and town agencies
  • Participating in the environmental review process when the use of federal or state monies or approval may affect National or State Register property
  • Updating and adding new building and area inventory forms through survey projects
  • Sponsoring public education activities
  • Sponsoring annual preservation awards

2019 Meeting Dates

Preservation Commission Meeting Dates Application Deadline
Tuesday, January 8 Tuesday, December 18
Tuesday, February 12 Tuesday, January 22
Tuesday, March 12 Tuesday, February 19
Tuesday, April 9 Tuesday, March 19
Tuesday, May 14 Tuesday, April 23
Tuesday, June 11 Tuesday, May 21
Tuesday, July 9 Tuesday, June 18
Tuesday, August 13 Tuesday, July 23
Tuesday, September 10 Tuesday, August 20
Tuesday, October 8 Tuesday, September 17
Tuesday, November 12 Tuesday, October 22
Tuesday, December 10 Tuesday, November 19