Devotion School Building Committee

Devotion School Project Update 4/14/2015 (PDF)


The Devotion School Building Committee is responsible for the general monitoring of the grant application process and to advise the town during the construction of the project.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes

Recent Presentations

Project Update

On November 13, 2012 Town Meeting approved $1.75 million for the Feasibility Study / Schematic Design Phase of the Devotion School Project. On January 30, 2013, the Massachusetts School Building Authority's (MSBA) voted to authorize the execution of a "Feasibility Study Agreement (FSA)". An Owner's Project Manager (OPM) has been hired and the services of HMFH Architects, Inc have been procured through the MSBA's "Request for Services" (RFS) process.

On September 26, the Committee voted Option 1 as the "Preferred Schematic" option. The September 22, 2014 presentation showing all options is available below under "Recent Presentations". The actual "Preferred Schematic Report" (three volumes) are available:

On November 19, 2014, the MSBA voted to approve the Town to proceed into schematic design based on the Preferred Schematic option submitted by the Committee. View the letter from the MSBA (PDF).

Preliminary Design Program

Devotion School Construction Cost Estimates


In accordance with 963 CMR 2.00 (Massachusetts School Building Authority regulations), the Town of Brookline established a School Building Committee for the Devotion School renovation / addition project. Committee membership is as follows:

Name & Title
SBC Member Who is Massachusetts Certified Public Purchasing Official (MCPPO) CertifiedTony Guigli, Owner's Project ManagerEmail Tony Guigli
Ph: 617-730-2044
Local Chief Executive OfficerNancy Daly, Board of SelectmanEmail Nancy Daly
Ph: 617-730-22OO
Administrator or Manager [i]Melvin Kleckner, Town AdministratorEmail Melvin Kleckner
Ph: 617-730-22OO
School Committee Member
(Minimum of 1)
David Pollak

Helen Charlupski
Email David Pollak
Ph: 617-566-3212

Email Helen Charlupski
Ph: 617-566-5329
Superintendent of SchoolsWilliam LupiniEmail william Lupini
Ph: 617-730-2401
Local Official Responsible for Building MaintenanceCharles Simmons, Director of BuildingsEmail Charles Simmons
Ph: 617-730-2185
Representative of Office Authorized by Law to Construct School BuildingsDaniel Bennett, Building CommissionerEmail Daniel Bennett
Ph: 617-730-2099
School PrincipalJoe ConnellyEmail Joe Connelly
Ph: 617-879-4400
Member Knowledgeable in Educational Mission and Function of FacilityJennifer Fischer-Mueller, Deputy SuperintendentEmail Jennifer Fischer-Mueller
Ph: 617-730-2429
Local Budget Official or Member of Local Finance
Melissa Goff, Deputy Town AdministratorEmail Melissa Goff
Ph: 617-730-2205
Members of Community with Architecture, Engineering, and/or Construction ExperienceKen Kaplan, member of Building Commission

Sergio Modigliani, Planning Board

Jim Batchelor, Preservation

Angela Hyatt, Advisory Committee
Email Ken Kaplan
Ph: 617-232-3300

Email Sergio Modigliani
Ph: 617-735-9197

Email Jim Batchelor

Email Angela Hyatt
Ph: 617-734-3742
Other: Please Provide Brief Background Information / Expertise [i]Mary Ellen Dunn, Deputy Superintendent

Arden Reamer, Parent

Pam Roberts, Parent

Roberta Winitzer

Linda Leary, Historical Society (Alternate)
Email Mary Ellen Dunn
Ph: 617-730-2424

Email Arden Reamer
Ph: 617-834-5785

Email Pam Roberts
Ph: 617-277-9275

Email Roberta Winitzer
Ph: 617-975-0075

Email Linda Leary
Ph: 617-738-7204

[i] "Administrator or Manager" refers to a Town Administrator, Town Manager, or to an equivalent position.