Celebrations Committee


  • Bob Allen
  • Marge Amster, Commercial Areas Coordinator
  • Annmarie Cedrone, Veterans Office
  • Polly Cornblath
  • Peter Ditto, Director of Engineering / Transportation
  • Erin Gallentine. Director of Parks and Open Space
  • Kevin Johnson, Director of Highway / Sanitation (Department of Public Works)
  • Thomas Keaveney, Police Captain
  • Mel Kleckner, Town Administrator
  • William Mcgroarty, Veterans Director
  • Rita Mcnally
  • Chou Chou Merrill
  • Michael W. Merrill
  • Betty Moylon
  • Andy Pappastergion, Department of Public Works Commissioner
  • Lisa Paradis Recreation, Director
  • Melvin Ritter, Commission for the Disabled
  • Ben Vivante, Webmaster
  • Joseph Walsh


The Celebrations Committee was established in 1991. Prior to 1991 the town had a Memorial Day Parade to honor men and woman who lost their lives fighting for our freedom. It was determined that Memorial Day should be a day to remember not a day to celebrate, as a result the Celebration Committee was formed to plan for an event that would both honor our service men and women and celebrate our country's freedom.

The result is the Annual Flag Day Parade and Event, which is celebrated on the 3rd Sunday in June. Each year the Committee convenes starting in January to plan for the event, which consists of a parade down Harvard / Washington / Cypress Streets ending at Cypress Field where there are carnival rides, games, and activities for children and adults. It is a day full of family fun.