Zoning Board of Appeals

The Board of Appeals is a 3-member quasi-judicial board, with 5 associate members, that is responsible for reviewing and approving applications for relief by special permit and by variance from the requirements of the Zoning By-Law, in accordance with the “Massachusetts Zoning Act” - Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 40A. 3 board members sit for each hearing and a unanimous vote is required for an appeal to be granted. Associate members may sit should regular members be unable to do so due to absence or conflict of interest. The current membership is as follows:


  • Jesse Geller, Chair
    Term Expires: 2024
  • Mark Zuroff
    Term Expires: 2022
  • Johanna Schneider
    Term Expires: 2023

Associate Members

  • Lark Palermo
    Term Expires: 2024
  • Paul Bell
    Term Expires: 2024
  • Randolph Meiklejohn
    Term Expires: 2023
  • Neil Wishinsky
    Term Expires: 2024


The mission of the Zoning Board of Appeals is to interpret and apply the General Laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and the Zoning By-Laws of the Town of Brookline to all matters which appear before it. In so doing, the board follows its rules and regulations fairly and gives due deference to the reports of the Planning Board and the building commissioner, who is the zoning enforcement officer for the Town of Brookline, as well as the decision laws of the Commonwealth.