Small Commercial Exemption Committee


  • Kenneth Goldstein, Chair
  • Ronny Sydney
  • Jonathan Stearns
  • Hsiu-Lan Chang
  • Dana Brigham
  • Ken Lewis
  • Jerry Kampler
  • Michael Traister
  • Roger Lipson
  • Jerry Katz
  • Gary McCabe, Assessor


The charge of the committee shall be to review the current provisions of the Small Commercial (Property Tax) Exemption in G.L. Chapter 59§I, to determine the taxpayer and community benefits available and whether those benefits, in the form of limited tax exemption, are available to small independently owned businesses in Brookline in a fair and equitable manner.

The committee will also examine the possible amendment to the current statutory language through home-rule petition or otherwise, if necessary, to allow the limited tax exemption to be applied to certain property uses based on the size and type of business occupying the property in a more fair and equitable manner.

The committee will report to the Board of Selectmen prior to the close of the Fall Town Meeting warrant.


Email Gary McCabe, Assessor